Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

January is National Mentoring Month in the USA

Posted by cotojo on January 24, 2008

I received this beautiful Award from my dear friends Sue of Blogging Sueblimely and from Mary Ann of MaryannavilleThank you Sue and Mary Ann, it is very humbling to receive this Award. 

Sue awarded both this blog and my Free PC Security blog, which was most generous of her 🙂

I had no idea that there was any such thing but now I know otherwise. I learned about this from my dear friend Sue of “Blogging Sue Blimely.” Below is what Sue mentioned in her blog post.

“This is an initiative spearheaded by the Harvard Mentoring Project of the Harvard School of Public Health, with the aim of recruiting volunteer mentors to help young people achieve their full potential. The US Harvard School of Public Health is dedicated to thanking or honoring individuals who have guided us and had a lasting impact on our lives.”

Along with it, Sue handed out an award that she had personally created for the National campaign. I was honored to be included on her list. I have placed the text award version in the sidebar on the left.

Sue created two for us to choose from and below is the original Award with a Text Version in the sidebar which links to this post.

Sue is quite a distance away from me in the UK as she is in Australia so she posted earlier, just to be sure that we got our awards on time. The official United States date to “Thank your Mentor Day” is 24th January.

Thank you, SueBlimely! Now, please pick up YOUR Blogging Mentor award from Life! Each of you have earned this really neat award by being among the best mentor’s we have access to on the World Wide Web.

I’d like to present this to Lisa of Life is Just Around the Corner, for without her valuable input on my Free PC Security blog when I first stared blogging, this blog would never have come into existence.  

To Jackie of The Painted Veil for her wonderful friendship from my first days of blogging and continuous support for my blogs.  

To Jos of NoDirecton (notNo Direction) for his continued support in all that I have done, his humor and honesty.

Also, I’d like to include Hanna of Amori,poesie,arte, who has done so much to bring along more European bloggers, especially from Italy, to join our ranks. 

You are all incredibly fantastic people as well as every bit important to our blogging achievements. You generously share your time and energy with the many bloggers who are lucky enough to cross paths with your smiling and kind hearts.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Add to Technorati Favorites
26 Responses to “January is National Mentoring Month in the USA”

  1. cotojo said

    Rhonda – Thanks for the return visit 😀
    To be considered a mentor came as quite a surprise, and I think that we learn from each other and also help others along the way.

    I will change your link on blogroll to show new name, sounds good 🙂
    Most that know me call me Colin, which is what I sign my comments with here and on each blog I visit too.
    Have a wonderful day,
    *Hugs* back atcha,
    Colin

  2. Rhonda said

    Hello there and thanks for your visit to my blog as well. I like coming here and want to say gr8 things, but it’s getting late, and I’m a bit loopy *sigh* I will say how nice that award is. Must feel good to be a mentor, no matter what it’s for!

    Oh and thx bunches for the blogroll-return-favor. I will be changing my name to Foster Me Up here in the next few days, so go ahead and use that for my name. (It’s the name of my book…that’s in progress) What do I call you :?*hugs*

  3. hanna said

    Done!
    here
    see U Darling

  4. […] Project of the Harvard by Hanna I received this all-time prestigious Award from my incredible amico Grottynosh who was awarded by Sue of Blogging Sueblimely and from Mary Ann of Maryannaville. Thank you very […]

  5. cotojo said

    Maunie – You’re welcome to the nomination my dear friend 🙂
    Some good nominations today, could be aclose one!
    You’re not the only one who can’t get into MBL, I’ve come across a few others now.
    You still have your blog so you can at least get a message out to people via that 🙂
    Take care my dear friend 🙂
    Colin

  6. Colin…thank you very much but this just can’t work…lol I don’t even have a site or a way to
    get in touch with people…but it was so very nice of you…thanks anyway for nominating me…
    but oh my gosh…against speedy and sugar queen and the others…yeah right…lol

  7. cotojo said

    Lolli – Thank you so very much my friend 🙂
    Hope you have a wonderful day too,
    Colin

  8. Lolli said

    nice award colin you deserve it my friend.
    Have a nice day!

  9. cotojo said

    Kim – Thank you so much my dear friend 😀
    It will be a good weekend, I’m off to collect my little miss in a couple of hours, so I’m sure she will hav something planned LOL.
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend, and that your shoulder is getting better too.
    Take care 🙂
    Colin

  10. laketrees said

    congratulations Colin….you are very deserving of this award 🙂
    have a terrific weekend over on your side of the world 🙂

  11. cotojo said

    Michelle – Thank you so very much, it’s very kind of you to say so my friend 🙂
    Have a wonderful day,
    Colin

  12. cotojo said

    Jackie – I am most honored and humbled my dear friend, Thank You 🙂
    To be considered as a mentor is very humbling indeed and to receive the award back from you is even more humbling.
    You are very talented and inspire many others with your blog, and I am blessed to have you as my friend 🙂
    Hugs, love and blessings to you Jackie,
    Take care and have a wonderful day
    Colin

  13. Congrats on the award. you deserve it.

  14. Shinade said

    Right bak at cha’ my dear friend!!

    http://shinade.blogspot.com/2008/01/national-mentoring-month-usa.html

    Hugs and much love,
    ~Jackie

  15. cotojo said

    Jos – You’re most welcome buddy and yes I’m still playing catch up too lol
    Blogging Time Management didn’t work did it hahahaha
    Yes I see you have been busy on BRB, it’s looking good though 😀
    Take care my friend, have a wonderful day,
    Colin

  16. cotojo said

    Norm – Thank you so much my friend, I will do it asap, but will probably be early next week 🙂
    Take care and have a wonderful day,
    Colin

  17. Norm said

    Hello colin! good morning, if you have time visit my site http://ladynorms.blogspot.com I have a contract tag 4 you..TC

  18. Jos said

    Thank you very much Colin! And I appreciate your kind words about me, a lot!
    You’re aware that I am still (still!!) playing catch up a lot, so I do hope you won’t mind my late showing up for this. We should have taken that bloggingtimemanagementcourse (see the Teapot meme), lol!)
    …BRB has been taking up most of my time and attention over the past days, and to my honest opinion I haven’t been much of a Blogging Mentor even to my own blogs, lol!!
    Anyway, than again, buddy! I am grabbing the award and will put it with a link on my awards page right now – and hopefully will find some time son to pass it on :))
    Take Care & Have Fun!
    -Jos:)

  19. cotojo said

    Jackie – It really is a pleasure to pass this on to you 😀
    You have always been very supportive from my very first few days of blogging, and you’re a great and wonderful friend to have 🙂
    Love, hugs and Blessings to you my dear friend,
    Colin

  20. cotojo said

    Hanna – Catturato da lei sorpresa huh? LOL
    Lei merita il mio amore, che hai portato tanti altri blogger e è veramente impressionante: o)
    Grandi abbracci e baci per voi
    Colin xoxoxo

  21. Shinade said

    Oh Colin, I am crying too. To know you think of me in this way is so very,very moving. Thank you so very,very much. For once I am left speechless!!
    Much love my dear friend,
    ~Jackie

  22. hanna said

    OOOOOOOOOOOO!
    I’ll come back later

  23. cotojo said

    Max – Thank you so much 🙂
    I had no idea either until I found out from an alert from Sue’s site.
    Learn something new every day 😀

    Take care and have a wonderful day,
    Colin

  24. cotojo said

    Lisa – You’re more than welcome my dear friend 🙂
    As I said, if it wasn’t for you then this blog would never have been created, it was purely my PC Security blog at the time, but this one has fast overtaken it LOL.
    I’ll agree with a round of drinks too LOL Clink! Cheers!
    God Bless my friend, take care,
    Hugs and kisses to you,
    Colin

  25. Hello Colin,

    Congrats for such a great award! 😀 I didn’t know that this was a mentoring month in the US either…

    Cheers

  26. Sophiagurl said

    ohhhhh…now you’ve made me teary-eyed! thank you my dear friend…this is probably the most special award I have received here so far. Something that I will hold closely to my heart.

    Thank you oh-soooo-much my dear this is quite an honor. Hugggggsss! Gosh this calls for a round of drinks! Clink! God bless you Colin…I totally love this one! Mwah!

Leave a Reply

 
