Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

Care For Your Eyes With Pinholes

Posted by cotojo on July 24, 2008

Did you know that many computer users have to wear eyeglasses to correct their vision, as sitting in front of the screen causes the eye muscles to weaken over time.

The brain causes the eye to move the focus to increase contrast levels to sharpen images and text, but if it cannot do this the because of muscle weakness within the eye then then text and images remain blurred. This often leads to sore eyes, headaches and tension.

So many users have to resort to using eyeglasses to correct this. Now, there is a way to improve your vision without using prescription eyeglasses or reading glasses that can be purchased in many places. By wearing pinhole glasses, which look like sunglasses, you can improve your overall vision whether you are computing, reading, watching TV.

Pinhole glasses are usually made with normal frames and high quality opaque screens containing lots of small holes which are precision made with laser technology. The advantage of pinholes is that they help to retrain the eye muscles.

Pinhole eyeglasses offer a good solution to this problem as each perforation allows only a very narrow beam of light to enter the eye which increases the depth of field of vision, reduces glare and also reduces the focusing effort required by the eye. You can test this theory yourself by simply clenching your fist, leaving just a small hole through your fingers, hold your fist close to your eye and look through the hole at your monitor without using eyeglasses and see the difference.

Now imagine having the same clarity without normal correction glasses, which encourages laziness in the eye muscles and in time requires stronger lenses to maintain sharp vision.

Another advantage of pinhole glasses is that you do not need to replace them with anything stronger, if they get scratched it does not affect them and they are a much cheaper solution in the long term.

They are perfect for people who suffer from near sight, far sight, eye strain / headaches or computer stress. By reducing glare from the sides and above the eye is focused on looking through the pinholes which relaxes the eye muscles. This is something that would be beneficial to many computer users, even if they do not wear corrective lenses.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Add to Technorati Favorites

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

15 Responses to “Care For Your Eyes With Pinholes”

  1. cotojo said

    Curt – Many thanks for your visit and comment.
    I quite agree 🙂
    Sat for long periods looking at the screen is not good and the pinholes reduce eye strain and really are a major benefit.
    They certainly help me lol
    Have a great week,
    Colin

  2. Curt said

    Its a very beneficial post for all the webmasters out here on internet. Eye problem is a majot issue with all of us. These pinhole eye glasses could be best option for all of us.

  3. cotojo said

    Ariyes – Thank you for your visit and comment 🙂
    Pinholes are awesome, I use them and they are very easy to adapt to, but you must have good light around for best effect, but they work wonders 🙂
    Best wishes
    Colin

  4. Ariyes said

    Hi,

    I am really afraid of eye sight which i am nearer to get eye sight bcoz i sit infront of the system for 12 to 16 hours daily!
    As you said that these pinhole glasses are usefull for computer stress and cheaper to buy from anywhere then i felt happy to hear this news!

    thanks for the info and good article provided by cotojo!

  5. I have to try this, Colin, as I seem to have eyestrain most of the days of my life! Thanks for the info! Hope all is well in your world.

  6. Wow.. I don’t wear glasses, but that’s really nifty. Increasing the DOF by using many small aperture pinholes. Does this diminish the brightness of what you see?

  7. This post of yours is really great! I’ve been suffering from the exact eye strain that you were talking about here and I must admit that for some 1 week now I’ve been thinking about going to the optometrist to have my eye measured for a reading glass. I am a 12-hour computer user because I am a work from home dad and you saved from going to the doctor today and lots of money too. I hope others will find this post of yours. Thank you very much for the big tip.

  8. Andei said

    I’ve actually restored my eyesight with vision-corrective eye exercises from a russian course that I used. i’ve had -4.75 on both of my eyes, starting from jsut -1.5 and reaching -4.75 over 9 years or so. And it only takes less than 30 minutes of your time a day. And I know EXACTLY now what I need to do to keep my eyes healthy for the rest of my life!
    When when you work with a pc, read a book, or when you are doing anything else that requires you to stare at it for a long time, especially close up, you need look around the room, look into the distance now and again. If you do that, your eyesight will NOT get worse. Otherwise, it WILL – it’s only normal, only common sense.

    If you do start noticing your eyesight worsening, then you can start doing more exercises – move your eyes up, down, left, right, look onto your nose etc – do this for a couple of mins once every hour or so, then close your eyes and relax. If you put your hands over your face, so that your eyes are right in the middle of your palms, with no light getting through, and stay like this for a minimum of 3 mins, then your eyes will relax and you’ll see a huge improvement for a moment – every day you’ll notice a slight improvement in your vision, right until the moment when you fully restore it.

  9. Sueblimely said

    Wow that is interesting – I will let my son know about these. Leading up to his final Uni exams he is in front of the screen almost as much as his mum 🙂 My eyesight is already a lost cause and my optometrist thinks I have the computer screen about 9 inches away from my face – new glasses specifically for reading from the computer are to be returned tomorrow.

  10. rsudher said

    “Your site is very informative n helpful .. thanks…..keep it up” .IndiaSurfer is social news submiting site.submit your posts get more traffic to your site.vote for best stories.
    http://www.indiasurfer.com

  11. AngelBaby said

    Hi Colin,

    I have to try these. What a great idea! Do you have some of these glasses? Have they worked for you? I let you know how they work for me. 🙂

    I would really like it if you would help me get a meme started. It is on my site it is for earthdance. Let me know if you can do this. I know you have not been feeling real good so if it is too much let me know. I hope you are feeling better really soon because I miss you allot.

    Love, Blessings and Lots of Hugs too my dear friend,
    AngelBaby

  12. Hey Colin!

    How have you been, darling? Long time no see…

    These glasses seem to be quite interesting, but I wonder if they work at all (have you tried them on?)!
    After a few hours on the computer my eyes begin to sore…a total mess!

    Well, I hope all is well with you!

    Hug

  13. Oh no! I’d heard this but never wanted to believe it. I got lasEK surgery and for more than 3 years I’ve had perfect eyesite. Let’s just hope I don’t ruin it! *lovies ~n huggies* my friend. Have a gr8 wk end.

  14. Tammy said

    My computer still is weird and I’m hot. I mean the weather is hot, but yeah I guess you could say I’m hot too. LOL

  15. […] by Mark Levit on July 24, 2008 Wow! Pinhole glasses, huh? And they’ll correct nearsightedness, farsightedness, eye strain, headaches, and […]

Leave a Reply

 
