Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

Fathers Day June 15 2008

Posted by cotojo on June 13, 2008

Father’s Day falls on June 15 this year, and they also play an important role in the family.

It was inaugurated in the early twentieth century to complement Mother’s Day in celebrating fatherhood and male parenting, and also to honor and commemorate fathers and forefathers.

A Father Means...

It will be celebrated in many countries around the world on June 15, 2008:

Antigua, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Greece, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Netherlands, Pakistan, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela and Zimbabwe.

Other countries celebrate on different dates throughout 2008:

March 14 – Iran

March 19 – Bolivia, Honduras, Italy, Liechtenstein, Portugal, Spain.

May 1 – Germany

May 8 – South Korea (Parents’ Day)

June 1 – Lithuania

June 5 – Denmark

June 8 – Austria, Belgium

June 17 – El Salvador, Guatemala

June 23 – Nicaragua, Poland, Uganda

July 13 – Uruguay

July 27 – Dominican Republic

August 8 – Taiwan, People’s Republic of China

August 10 – Brazil

August 24 – Argentina

September 7 – Australia, New Zealand

September 29 – Nepal

October 5 – Luxembourg

November 9 – Estonia, Finland, Norway, Sweden

December 5 – Thailand

Happy Father's Day

Also remember those whose Fathers have passed away, for them it is a day that will be filled with sadness and also many happy memories for young and old alike.

Related Post:
Father’s Day 2007

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Add to Technorati Favorites

Join My Community at MyBloglog!

21 Responses to “Fathers Day June 15 2008”

  1. cotojo said

    Kim – I had a great Father’s day with my daughter 😆
    It’s always nice to have her around on special occasions and I will post about our weekend out sometime next week 🙂
    Take care my dear friend and have a great weekend,
    Colin

  2. purplefrog said

    Hope you had a great fathers day with your daughter……….

  3. cotojo said

    AngelBaby – Thank you my dear friend, it was a wonderful day spent with my daughter 😆
    I will pop by your site as soon as I can 🙂
    Love, Blessings and Big hugs for you too.
    Have a great week,
    Colin

  4. cotojo said

    Chuck – Thank you sweetie 🙂
    I had a wonderful day with my daughter here for the weekend 😆
    Have a great week my dear friend,
    *Hugs n smoochies*
    Colin

  5. AngelBaby said

    I forgot to tell you I have a little something for you on my site!

    Love, Blessings and big hugs to you my dear friend,
    AngelBaby

  6. AngelBaby said

    Happy Father’s day Colin, I hope it was wonderful my dear friend.

    Love, Blessings and a big hug too,
    AngelBaby

  7. chuck said

    A wonderful tribute, of course. Happy Father’s Day to you, sir. *lovies*

  8. cotojo said

    Milton – Thank you for your kind words my friend 🙂
    I shall have agreat day with my daughter visiting for the weekend.
    Have a great day yourself:lol:
    Colin

  9. happy fathers day to all the fathers in the entire blogosphere
    have a great day colin

  10. cotojo said

    Param – Likewise….my father passed away many years ago, but his memory lives on and now I have my own daughter to share the day with.
    God bless and have a good weekend.
    Thank you for your visit and comment 🙂
    Colin

  11. cotojo said

    Lisa – Hey you, I hope your husband has a great Father’s day too 🙂
    Take care and God Bless,
    Have a great weekend,
    Hugggggggs
    Colin

  12. cotojo said

    Sandee – Thank you sweetie,
    I hope that you have a great weekend too my dear friend.
    Take care,
    Big Hugs,
    Colin

  13. cotojo said

    Maunie – Thank you my dear friend, I hope that you enjoy a wonderful weekend too 🙂
    Take care,
    Hugs,
    Colin

  14. cotojo said

    Stacey – Thank you so much, I’m glad that you liked it 🙂
    I shall have a great day as my daughter is here with me this weekend 😆
    Have a great weekend,
    Colin

  15. param said

    hi evry1….
    on father’s day, i’ll jst pray 4 peace of my dad’s soul..

    hapy father’s day 2 all…

  16. Sophiagurl said

    heya dear friend! Happy Father’s Day to you.

    Hugggggggsss!

  17. Happy Fathers Day Colin. Have a great weekend. Big hug. 🙂

  18. The very happiest of fathers day to you Colin…I hope all is well with you and your feeling as terrific as you are…

  19. What a great post, Colin! Happy Father’s Day!

  20. cotojo said

    Tammy – Thank you sweetie,
    I’m sure it will be as my litle miss will be here for the weekend 😆
    Hope you have a great weekend too 🙂
    Hugs,
    Colin

  21. Tammy said

    Happy Fathers Day!

Leave a Reply

 
