Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

What Gender Is A Computer

Posted by cotojo on March 13, 2008

Formatting Hard Drive

A language instructor was explaining to her class that French nouns, unlike their English counterparts, are grammatically designated as masculine or feminine.

Things like ‘chalk’ or ‘pencil,’ she described, would have a gender association although in English these words were neutral.

Puzzled, one student raised his hand and asked, “What gender is a computer?”

The teacher wasn’t certain which it was, and so divided the class into two groups and asked them to decide if a computer should be masculine or feminine.

One group was composed of the women in the class, and the other, of men. Both groups were asked to give four reasons for their recommendation.

The group of women concluded that computers should be referred to in the masculine gender because:

1. In order to get their attention, you have to turn them on.

2. They have a lot of data but are still clueless.

3. They are supposed to help you solve your problems, but half the time they ARE the problem.

4. As soon as you commit to one, you realize that, if you had waited a little longer, you might have had a better model.

The men, on the other hand, decided that computers should definitely be referred to in the feminine gender because:

1. No one but their creator understands their internal logic.

2. The native language they use to communicate with other computers is incomprehensible to everyone else.

3. Even your smallest mistakes are stored in long-term memory for later retrieval.

4. As soon as you make a commitment to one, you find yourself spending half your paycheck on accessories for it.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Add to Technorati Favorites
8 Responses to “What Gender Is A Computer”

  1. cotojo said

    Milton – LOL…now you’re hoping for something huh?
    A computer that’s a female? I think I’ll say nothing 😆
    HAve a great weekend buddy,
    Colin

  2. gheeeeh my computer is a female hahaha
    please tell me that computer is a female and not a man
    ]gosh i just kissed my computer due to im done with my very long thesis
    gheeeeeeh tell me colin that it is she and not he huhuhuhu oh noooooooo i just kissed a man eeeek
    hehehe but then thanks for informing me that haha now i will be aware to my computer to hug him or kiss him lol
    have a grteat day

  3. cotojo said

    Misty Dawn – I’m saying nothing, I’ll be accused of being biased hahaha
    It was interesting to put both female and male perspectives though 😆
    Have a great day,
    Colin

  4. Misty Dawn said

    Hmmmmm – now that I’ve read all eight points of reasoning… I still can’t decide if it should be male or female! 😉

  5. cotojo said

    Kimba – Glad you liked it sweetie 😆
    Also pleased that you sorted out your feed.
    Now as for your avatar that is to do with MBL and Yahoo being one and the same, so the only way to change that is to change your Yahoo avatar to the eyeball 🙂
    Have a great day,
    Take care,
    Colin

  6. cotojo said

    Tammy – I’m not saying which ones I agree with…I’ll only get into more trouble 😆
    Have a great day Babe,
    Take care,
    Colin

  7. Ha! I love this! You are coming up with the cutest posts lately!

    Guess what?! I figured out my little problem with the Subscribe Reader thing! I did it! Thanks so much for your help, sweetie!

    But I just noticed something when I came in here… my pic in your recent reader is my Yahoo pic instead of my pic that I normally use (big blue eyeball). Why’s that, I wonder?!

  8. Tammy said

    I’m beginning to think you don’t like us women. But I definitely agree with number 1 and 3 of the womens view that a computer is a man. LOL!

    Take Care Babe!
    Tam

Leave a Reply

 
