Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

Kim’s Win a Free Portrait for Christmas Winner

Posted by cotojo on February 26, 2008

I was the winner of Kim’s Win a Free Portrait for Christmas Competition # 2 over at Laketrees

The subject that I chose was my daughter Laura.  Kim painted this from an A4 photograph that I supplied.  Kim has been suffering from a frozen shoulder, so this is truly remarkable and the likeness is perfect.

My DaughterMy daughter

What makes this all the more special is that I found out on my birthday just before Christmas, that I had won this awesome and amazing competition.  The photograph used was taken on my daughter’s 15th Birthday in early January. 

 If you want to see a larger image of the portrait, head on over to Kim at laketrees and click on the image.

Thank you so very much Kim, it is an amazing painting and perfect in detail.

Related Posts:
Win a Free Portrait for Christmas
Kim’s Christmas Competition

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Add to Technorati Favorites
32 Responses to “Kim’s Win a Free Portrait for Christmas Winner”

  1. cotojo said

    Misty Dawn – Thank you so very much, it’s very kind of you 🙂
    Kim is a brilliant artist and to paint a portrait with such accuracy from a photo is awesome 😀
    Have a wonderful day,
    Take care,
    Colin

  2. Misty Dawn said

    What a beautiful daughter, photo and painting!!!

  3. cotojo said

    Kim – Thank you 😀
    I just thought that if I put the photo beside the painting others could see what you had to work from and it looks quite effective 🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Take care,
    *Hugs*
    Colin

  4. laketrees said

    I like the way that you have put the photo next to the portrait Colin….really lovely idea 🙂

  5. cotojo said

    Diane – Thank you so much 😀
    The portrait is awesome, and for Kim to do that from an A4 photo is even more awesome!
    Have a great day my dear friend,
    Colin

  6. Diane said

    Quite lovely. The portrait and your daughter!

  7. cotojo said

    Bluedreamer – Thank you my friend 🙂
    It’s an awesome piece of work, and I really need to add the original photo from which it was painted 🙂
    Have a great day,
    Colin

  8. wow i like the portrait its perfectly dann the stokres and the shades haha im an illustrator too have a great day

  9. cotojo said

    Max – I’m giving too much information my dear friend hahahaha 🙂
    You get to that age when you start to forget…..about 25 LOL
    Thank you for the tag, I will pop over and pick it up 😀
    Have a great day my sweet friend,
    Colin

  10. cotojo said

    Norm – Thank you so much my sweet friend 🙂
    Yes of course I will vote for your niece…on my way now 😀
    Have a wonderful day,
    Take care,
    Colin

  11. cotojo said

    Chris – Thank you my dear friend 🙂
    Kim has captured her perfectly, showing the spirit of a teenager and the eyes and smile reflect this.
    Have a great day 🙂
    Colin

  12. cotojo said

    Lisa – Yes it certainly is a stunning portrait and Laura is over the moon with it 🙂
    Kim has done such a wonderful job, it is truly awesome 😀
    Have a great day my dear friend,
    *Hugs* to you,
    Colin

  13. Colin,

    Before Xmas? :-O…I will be attentive this year 😉
    My dear and sweet friend, I have tagged you for a simple thing:

    http://maxcouti.blogspot.com/2008/02/tags-linky-love-and-domino-effect.html

    Cheers

  14. Norm said

    wow! so beautiful, congrats colin! by the way, can I ask your vote for my niece? vote MY LITTLE BALLERINA here http://pinoyscrapbookers.blogspot.com/2008/02/my-little-ballerina.html thanks so much and take care..

  15. chris said

    She’s a very pretty girl, and Kim has captured her well. Congratulations on your win Colin. Hope you had a great birthday too.

  16. Sophiagurl said

    Wow! a stunning portrait of Laura. I’m sure she was tickled pink with it. And Kim really did a great job! =) Congratulations!

  17. cotojo said

    Max – It was just before Christmas and thank you so much my sweet friend 🙂
    Kim has done a wonderful job and it is absolutely superb 😀
    My daughter will enjoy reading through these comments. I’m sure she will let me know when she does LOL
    Have a great day,
    *Hugs* to you too,
    Colin

  18. Hey Colin,

    I don’t know when your birthday was, but I would like to wish you “belated Happy Birthday!!”, at the same :D!!!! I hope you had a great B-day :D!

    Your daughter is beautiful!!! Kim did a great job indeed :)…this was a delightful present :D!

    Cheers and a B-day hug

  19. cotojo said

    Mary Ann – Thank you so very much my dear friend 🙂
    It was such a surprise to win and Kim has done such an amazing portrait, it has real character in it and has captured the moment 😀
    Have a wonderful day,
    *Hugs* to you
    Colin

  20. cotojo said

    Hye – Wow thank you so very much, I will pop on over soon 🙂
    Have a wonderful day,
    Take care,
    Colin

  21. cotojo said

    Kim – Laura is over the moon with it 😀
    She can’t wait to see the real thing LOL, and it’s a pleasure to post it here too.
    Physio’s are great aren’t they…they love to watch others suffer…I think they are sadists hahaha
    I have so many memes in draft…one day they will all go out together I think 🙂
    Have a wonderful night,
    Take care,
    Hugs to you my dear friend,
    Colin

  22. saboma said

    I think I’ve said it enough times just how happy I am that you won the contest, Dad, and I’m pretty sure that I’ve gotten boring more and more each time. Yet, I’ll say it again because it is the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. I can’t think of a nicer person to have won and a more beautiful model for Kim to have portrayed with her incredible talent and skill.

    Good on ya, Colin!

  23. Hye said

    Hi,

    You had just received an awards today coming from me. Check it out at Space of Reality

    Hye

  24. laketrees said

    so good to hear That Laura is happy with her portrait Colin 🙂
    thanks for presenting it here on your blog …I have been memed out at the moment and yesterday the physio nearly ripped my arm out of the socket !!!…still as they say no pain …no gain…so all is good…
    in the process of backing the portrait now…thanks for your address… actually I’ll miss her when she goes …sniff 🙂

  25. cotojo said

    Sue – It is a wonderful portrait, Kim has done a superb job with that.
    I tried to keep it away from Laura as a surprise, but she has started reading my blog at home LOL, so she has seen it and she is so pleased and excited 😀
    Have a wonderful day my dear friend,
    Colin

  26. sueblimely said

    That is a wonderful portrait. I bet Laura is rapt.

  27. cotojo said

    Tammy – Thank you so much my dear friend 🙂
    Birthday was years ago hahahaha
    I know….I’m BAD 😀
    Have a wonderful day,
    Hugs to you,
    Colin

  28. cotojo said

    Sandee – Thank you sweetie, and yes she is pretty 🙂
    Have a great day,
    Hugs to you,
    Colin

  29. cotojo said

    Stacey – Thank you my dear friend, it’s very kind of you 😀
    Have a wonderful day,
    Take care,
    Colin

  30. Tammy said

    Your daughter is beautiful! Happy belated birthday my friend!

  31. Congratulations Colin. Your daughter is beautiful. Have a great day pal. 🙂

  32. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
