Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

My Daughters Birthday and 200th Post

Posted by cotojo on January 12, 2008

Birthday GirlThursday was my daughters 15th Birthday.  Each year I travel down for her special day and take her out for a meal.  She decides where she would like to go and the Bank of Dad is open for business lol.

I arrived early as she wanted tickets to go and see Avril Lavigne in concert at the Plymouth Pavilions on June 1st, so that was my first task, getting her ticket which was part of her Birthday gift along with a watch with a mother of pearl face inset with diamonds.

Then I went to collect her from the artificial ski-slope.  She is off to Italy in March on a ski trip with her school for a week.

Then I asked her where she would like to go and if she wanted to take any of her friends along with her.  She decided on Pizza Hut, and she didn’t want any friends to come along, just me and her.  It’s always been that way, it’s her day and she likes to spend her time with me, but I’m sure that as she gets a bit older she will want to spend it with her friends too.

So off we went to Pizza Hut.  I let her choose whatever she wants, so we had garlic bread, spiced potato wedges with dips and salad for starters, followed by a stuffed crust pizza topped with Chicken, Bacon, Green Peppers, Red Onions, Tomato Chunks, Pineapple, Mushrooms, Sweetcorn, Whole Black Olives and Extra Mozzarella and it was wonderful!

Then it was time for dessert, my daughter opted for Profiteroles, a somewhat generous portion of 16 cream filled profiteroles drizzled with chocolate sauce and I chose the Banoffee Pie, a scrumptious sticky banana toffee dessert drizzled with chocolate sauce  served with ice cream.

We had a wonderful time and were truly stuffed!  Sadly, my camera batteries were flat so I had to wait until I took my daughter home again and borrowed some of her batteries to get a birthday photo to add to my collection. 

How quickly the years pass, and how quickly they grow from babes in arms to teenagers then on into adulthood.  I am grateful for the wonderful relationship that I have with my daughter, to share some wonderful times with her and to know that when she does have  a problem she will call me.

I’m sure she will break a few hearts over the coming years, she’s pretty -I’m biased lol, intelligent and knows what she wants out of life.  She studies hard and will have a great future ahead of her.

This is my 200th post on this blog which came to life with its first post on June 6th 2007.

For whatever reason this has become a very successful blog, with an excellent readership.  I thank you all for your support and comments over the past 7 months, you are simply awesome.  I have made many friends along the way who have given me great support and encouragement and I continue to make more friends, meeting people from all walks of life. 

Smile! Tomorrow could be worse.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

Add to Technorati Favorites
49 Responses to “My Daughters Birthday and 200th Post”

  1. cotojo said

    Mel – Thank you for your wonderful comment 🙂
    I think my daughter will break a few hearts LOL, but she also knows that whatever she does I am here for her.
    Take care my friend and have a wonderful day and week ahead,
    Colin

  2. cotojo said

    Jesse – Thank you so much for your comment :0
    It was super yummy and I’m one of the lucky ones as I don’t put the weight on LOL, so I don’t need the running machine hahahaha
    Have a great week my friend,
    Colin

  3. cotojo said

    LilyRuth – Thank you my dear friend 🙂
    I have answered your email too, so let me know about template.
    I will pop over and have a look and check the source code for you 🙂
    Hugs to you my friend,
    Colin

  4. cotojo said

    Jackie – Many thanks for your wonderful comment 🙂
    My daughter had a wonderful birthday and thoroughly enjoyed her day.
    200 posts and counting LOL….they added up so quick and so many awards that I have been honored with that leave me speechless!
    God Bless you my dear friend,
    Colin

  5. jesse said

    Now just reading all about the meal made me put on a good amount of weight.It sounds super yummy…I want to wish your daughter a belated happy birthday…and to you,head right off to the running machine,lol…to work off all that extra weight 🙂

  6. lilyruth said

    Hello my dear friends sorry I have not been around but I have been having trouble with my computer and was ill. I wanted to congratulate you on winning the Christmas competiton and as you know I did vote for you. Also I wanted to wish your beautiful daughter a Happy Birthday and many more say hi for me. Listen you see my picture or avatar did not even show up when I have stopped by to visit so you see im having trouble with computer . I wanted you to know that I have stopped by and wish you well. Do not stay away from visitng my blogs it gets lonely ovr there. Hugs. Listen Im going to send you an email because I truely need your help I trust you and this is why Im asking for your help. Oh listen add lilyruths this and that to your blog roll and I will add this new blog on to mine Smile I like the way you put Life together its a fun blog. I enjoy Fun

  7. Shinade said

    Oh Colin, this thread is so full of love I just had to post this here. I have something for you. http://shinade.blogspot.com/2008/01/ultimate.html

    Hugs,
    Jackie

  8. Mel said

    Your daughter is gorgeous. You had better keep an eye on her.

    There is a reason your blog is successful…..YOU.

    Congrats!!!

  9. shinade said

    My so many good things and you deserve them all. First may I say that you are not biased? Your daughter is simply beautiful and if she is anything like her father will go very far indeed in the world.

    It sounds as if you truly had a wonderful birthday with her and I am so pleased. But, I like Sandee am hungry now too!! I want the desserts:)

    And many congratulations on your 200th post and on the success of this blog. Colin it is all due to you and your wonderful outreach to each and everyone of us members. I know you are very special in my life.

    last but not least congratulations on being Santa’s Blog of The Day!!

    Sending many blessings your way,
    ~Jackie

  10. cotojo said

    Hanna – Ha l’aspetto di me? Uh Oh Hahahaha
    No, lei è molto belle di me lol, e sì che è molto maturo per la sua età: o)
    Baci e abbracci
    Colin

  11. cotojo said

    Robin Lee – Thank you so much. Yes she does have big brown eyes and still has her dimples lol and a great smile. She will be happy when the tooth braces are removed though, makes her a little self-conscious but it shouldn’t be long :o)
    Have a blessed week my dear friend,
    Colin

  12. hanna said

    ciao colin!
    tua bimba ti assomiglia tantissimo!
    sembra più matura degli 16 anni
    Pace,amore ;0)

  13. Happy birthday to such a pretty girl! Look at those big brown eyes and lovely smile!

    Have a blessed year!

  14. cotojo said

    Maunie – Thank you for you lovely comment 🙂
    Yes I’m sure she will break a few hearts lol, and she keeps trying to bankrupt me hahahaha, she’s worth it though 😀
    All those posts…it surprised me too LOL
    Take care my dear friend,
    Have a great day
    Colin

  15. Colin she is so very beautiful..big brown eyes and dimples..she will be a heartbreaker for sure..and as long as the bank of Dad stays solvent you will be able to keep up with all her new interests…your doing a great job..that’s why you two have such a great relationship..and all those posts…I am exhausted thinking about that…

  16. cotojo said

    AngelBaby – Thank you for your kind comments 🙂
    It was a wonderful day and we do have fun together, which is important and I guess I’m lucky to have such a good relationship with my daughter,
    Take care my dear friend and have a wonderful day.
    Love and Blessings to you,
    Colin

  17. cotojo said

    Rose – Thank you so much 🙂
    Happy Birthday to your baby boy this weekend too,
    Take care and have a wonderful week,
    Colin

  18. Angelbaby said

    Colin,

    Your daughter is beautiful. I am glad that the two of you have such fun together. It must have been a wonderful day. Happy birthday to you daughter. I hope she knows how lucky she is to have such a good daddy.

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

  19. Rose said

    I know what you mean. My baby boy turns 14 this weekend. Your daughter is very pretty.

  20. cotojo said

    Gina – Thank you so much for your kind comment 🙂
    Yes I believe that we are very fortunate to have a good relationship when many at that age can be very different.
    Have a wonderful week,
    Colin

  21. Gina said

    Your daughter is so pretty. How fortunate you both are to have a good relationship–especially at her age!

  22. cotojo said

    Amel – Thank you so much my dear friend 🙂
    I’m sure I will be making many more friends as the weeks go by….the numbers are increasing all the time….I need more hours in the day and days in the week to get around to them all hahaha.
    I have met so many wonderful people, including you 😀
    Have a wonderful week and take care,
    Colin

  23. cotojo said

    Lisa – Yes she’s going to break a few hearts I think lol, but she also has her head screwed on the right way…..like me she’s nutty too LOL.
    Me a celebrity? Noooo I just blog and create loads of link love and have fun 😀
    God Bless my dear friend, take care and have a wonderful week,
    Colin

  24. Amel said

    My pleasure, Colin! ;-D Well, biased or not, we all agree that your daughter’s VERY pretty anyway he he he he…

    And yeah, GOOD LUCK on reaching your 300th post, but more importantly, in making many more friendssssssss. VIVA friends!

    You too, have a WONDERFUL week! ;-D

  25. Sophiagurl said

    wow Colin, she’s gorgeous! You better watch out and learn those Ninja moves of yours. Men are going to flock all over. hahaha! Happy Birthday to the little miss and wow 200th posts! You’re such a celebrity my friend and I am sooooo proud of you! God bless you both and I love they way you guys cherish each other. It’s like the way I love and cherish my dad too=)

  26. cotojo said

    Amel – Thank you so very much my friend 😀
    I’m still biased lol, and it’s great that we have the wonderful relationship that we do.
    Now I have to work towards my 300th post hahaha
    Have a wonderful week, take care.
    Colin

  27. Amel said

    Your daughter’s REALLY pretty, so you’re not biased at all he he he he…;-D

    I’m glad to hear that you’ve got a GREAT relationship with her. ;-D And CONGRATS on your 200th post!!! ;-D

  28. cotojo said

    Kim – Thank you so much 😀
    My daughter isn’t so happy with having braces on her teeth at the moment but she knows it’s all for the good lol
    Pizza Hut was good, the food was delicious and we stayed for quite a while.
    I had no idea I had posted that many in just over 6 months and it wasn’t until I checked stats that I saw it LOL
    ‘Bank of Colin’….my daughter likes that one, wonder why 😀
    Couple of years and she will be after a car and driving lessons!
    Have great day my dear friend and I hope your shoulder is on the mend 🙂
    Colin

  29. laketrees said

    lovely post Colin….your daughter is certainly an English Rose….
    your Pizza Hut sounds far more exciting than ours….the food sounds delicious…
    congratulations on your 200th post…wow and since June 2006….you have been busy !!!!
    haha I think I’ve said this before….”Bank of Colin” …LOL….do you do house loans??? 🙂

  30. cotojo said

    Diane – Thank you so much 🙂
    My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her birthday and we had a really good time.
    It surprised me to find that I had reached my 200th post, it just sort of crept up lol.
    Have a great week ahead,
    Colin

  31. Diane said

    Great that you and your daughter have such good times together. I hope she had a wonderful birthday and congratulations to you on your 200th post – woo hoo!

  32. cotojo said

    Kimmy – Thank you 🙂
    We had a great time and was a wonderful afternoon and evening,
    Have a great week ahead,
    Colin

  33. kimmy said

    Glad you guys had a great time together on your daughter birthday…

  34. cotojo said

    Juliana RW – Thank you so much for you most kind comment 😀
    I’ve seen your tag and replied, and also hit you with another one so you can kill me another time hahaha
    Have a lovely Sunday,
    Colin

  35. cotojo said

    RennyBA – Many thanks for the birthday wishes for my daughter, I will pass them on 🙂
    She has a pack of 16 batteries to take with her to Italy along with her new camera so she should come back with many photo’s.

    I was quite surprised when I checked my stats to see that I was close to 200 posts, and the 200th tied in nicely with a wonderful day. I had no idea that I had posted those in half a year.

    Through blogging I believe that we all learn from each other and also help each other along the way and it is an honor to have met you and have you among my friends 🙂
    Have a wonderful Sunday Renny,
    Take care,
    Colin

  36. Juliana RW said

    You have a pretty daughter, Colin. Indeed 😀 Oh, i finished tag from you. If you have time, you can see that on my blog. Have a great Sunday too…

  37. RennyBA said

    Belated Happy Birthday to your daughter – I’m glad you had this quality time with her on her birthday! Wish her good luck on her ski trip to Italy in March and tell her to charge the batteries for her camera 🙂

    Congrats with post #200 too – you’ve really achieved a lot in just half a year on this blog and I’m glad I found you and are counted in as one of your friends. I’ve learned a lot about blogging from you, you know and Link Love is one of them:-)

  38. cotojo said

    Norm – Thank you so much 🙂
    Congrats on winning Filipino Blog of the Week and of course I will continue to vote and hope that you get to the Hall of Fame too 🙂
    Have a wonderful day,
    Colin

  39. cotojo said

    Eric – Thank you my friend for your great comment 🙂
    It is wonderful that my daughter wants to spend her time alone with me on her Birthday, and we have a great time…why, she’s almost as nutty as me LOL
    Avril Lavigne is very talented, my daughter has followed her since 2002 when ‘Complicated’ was released here and I quite like her music too 🙂
    Have a great Sunday,
    Colin

  40. cotojo said

    Mimi – Thank you for your kind comment 🙂
    Wow…I’m allowed out of the dungeon am I hahaha
    Thank you for the tag, I will get on to it as soon as I get the shackles off 🙂
    Have a wonderful day my friend.
    Colin

  41. Norm said

    wow! your daughter is so beautiful..thanks for voting me colin and of course I’m the winner for Filipino blog of the Week90 and if ok with you continue to vote for me for week91 for the hall of fame here http://salaswildthoughts.blogspot.com

  42. Colin, I think that is so touching and sweet that your daughter wants to spend her time with you alone. You must be such a fun dad – judging from my experiences talking with you and reading your blog. Speaking of …. your200th Post!!! Congratulations my friend.
    Avril Laviene is quite talented. I hear her music when I am around young people 🙂
    I stopped in to check out the tag, and was happily greeted by this uplifting and heart-warming post. I am so glad that you and your daughter had this special day together. Ahhh yes, wonderful days and wonderful memories. They make life SO grand.

  43. Mimi Lenox said

    Happy birthday to your girl. What a sweet post.

    You’ve been royally tagged by the Queen of Memes.
    Long live the dungeon. No Autographs, Please – The Band Meme

  44. cotojo said

    Francine – Thank you for your kind comment 🙂
    As for the message I left on your other blog, no problem, you’re most welcome.
    Have a wonderful weekend my friend,
    Colin

  45. FRANCINE said

    your daughter is very pretty. happy birthday to her :-). thanks for the sweet message you left on my other blog

  46. cotojo said

    Sandee – Thank you so very much for you kind comment 😀
    We had a really wonderful day and the food was excellent. Now my daughter is counting down the days to her Italy trip, Christmas and next Birthday hahaha
    Have a wonderful weekend my dear friend,
    Colin

  47. Your daughter is beautiful Colin. What a wonderful day you had, but I must say…I’m hungry now. Wow, all that food sounded so good. Especially the desserts. You have a successful blog because you are a very nice person. It’s easy to come here. Have a great day. 🙂

  48. cotojo said

    Sameera – Thank you so much and many congratulations on winning Santa’s Blog of the Day Award 😀
    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Colin

  49. Sameera said

    Congrats on the 200th post and belated Happy Birthday wishes to your daughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
