Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

A Day To Remember – 11th November 2007

Posted by cotojo on November 10, 2007

I SAW THE SOLDIERS MARCHING

by A. Lawrence Vaincourt

I saw the soldiers marching, one drear November day,
Those heroes bold, from wars of old, in countries far away.
I heard the drums like thunder, the sound of marching feet,
As men of ancient valor marched down our little street.

I heard the skirl of bagpipes, the blare of brasses bold,
As heroes from another time relived the days of old.
The old, the halt, the lame, the slow, they marched with solemn pace,
To honor comrades fallen at another time and place.

I felt the tightness in my throat, the tears that burned my eyes,
As I watched the quiet dignity of old men marching by.
The fine young men, and women too, in battles long ago,
Who gave their youth and some, their lives,to fight our country’s foe.

On this day will be remembered by comrades who remain,
And by the heavens, weeping, with softly falling rain.
The medals softly jingling on every passing chest,
In memory of companions who’ve long been laid to rest.

There are some unfit, and some who sit, in wheelchairs, row on row,
While they recall what price was paid to turn our country’s foe.
And some will stand with tear-dimmed eyes, and some with faces grim,
While all repeat the solemn vow,
“WE WILL REMEMBER THEM.”

Credit: 2004 A. Lawrence Vaincourt

They shall grow not old as we that are left grow old
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
We will remember them.

To All My Loved Ones                     The Soldier  

Prayer for Those Whose Loved Ones Are Missing

This is not just a time to pay tribute to those who fought for our freedom during WWI and WWII, but to ALL servicemen and servicewomen around the globe who have fought in many battles since and many of whom are once again on active service.  Our thoughts and prayers will be with them too for their safe return.

For my part I shall be paying tribute to the guy who was my best buddy, we joined the service together, trained as soldiers then played our roles, dancing to the politicians tune.  I returned, my best mate didn’t.  It could have been me as we were side by side watching out for each other.

Countless others could tell the same story, the waste of another life.  Some things in life we never forget, and for me this is one that will never be forgotten.

God Bless and peace be with you.

Add to Technorati Favorites

16 Responses to “A Day To Remember – 11th November 2007”

  1. cotojo said

    Deborah – Thank you so much for your comment 🙂

    I wanted to find a poem that would ‘strike a chord’ and it took a while but this one was perfec, well, I thought so anyway.

    Have a great day
    Colin

  2. Deborah said

    What a beautiful poem Colin. And thanks to people such as you, we’re able to lead the lives of freedom we do now. Lovely post 🙂

  3. cotojo said

    Billy – There are many interesting stories throughout Europe regarding War cemeteries including German ones and a few where German Axis forces were buried outside Allied forces cemeteries. When this was discovered they were re-buried within the Allied Foces cemeteries with full honors.

    I served in N.Ireland in the early 70’s which was quite a hot spot at the time, and made all the more difficult as I also have many relatives there as my mother was from Eire and I was also at Aldershot through many of the major bomb campaigns.

    Thankfully, it has quietened down over the years to what is now a peaceful situation which came about through talking and not violence.

    Peace my friend, have a great week.

    Colin

  4. Excellent Post Colin*

    Which War were U in??

    U are so right – we just haven’t Learned – sigh……….

    I read a few interesting Stories about the Canadian Cemetery in Groesbeek Holland from WWII

    & another one from a Cemetery in Wales for WWI – where 83 Canadian Soldiers are Buried even tho they Survived the War they died from a Flu outbreak in the Camps just waiting to catch a Ship Home!!

    I’m afraid too it’s gonna be no EZ task to get the Troops safely out of Iraq + even Afghanistan is a still a Scary Spot*

    I think Canada has only 1 Living person from WWI now so it’s very Important to Remember the Sacrifices they all made*

    Peace Brother*

  5. cotojo said

    Mel – Thank you for your visit and very kind comment 🙂
    Such posts are never easy to put together, so a bit of thought was needed bearing in mind that there are many service personnel still on active service.
    Hopefully by the time your son returns to Iraq things will have settled down somewhat, although it’s one of those places that will always be fraught with tension.
    All parents, family members and friends worry when a loved one is sent into action and I hope and pray that all are safely returned.

    Thank you for adding me to your blogroll, I will do likewise, and I will have to work on a button one of these days…time seems to escape me at the moment 🙂

    Have a wonderful week.
    Colin

  6. Mel said

    BTW,
    I have added you to my blogroll. If you come up with a button let me know and I’ll post it.

  7. Mel said

    Hi Colin,
    Beautiful poem. It gave me chills. My son is a captain in the army and is going over to Iraq for 3rd tour in April. He is chief of intelligence at Fort Lewis in WA currently. He tells me that things are different now and the “surge” has worked. He assures me that he will be safe, but I still worry. Anyway, this is a long way of telling you that I appreciate the poem. You certainly deserve the Attitide award. Wear it proudly!!

  8. cotojo said

    Jackie – Thank you so much for your comment.

    Veterans need to be remembered and the sacrifices that were made too, but the sad part is that mankind hasn’t yet learnt to live in peace and harmony 😦

    I will drop by yours soon and have a read 🙂
    Hugs to you and be safe 🙂
    Colin

  9. cotojo said

    Lisa – Thank you for your very kind comment.

    The boots are now a bit of a mess…but it was worth it as always, but I will put them in a post, before and after 🙂

    God Bless and have a great week
    Colin

  10. cotojo said

    Jos – Many thanks for your comment my friend.

    I shall pop over and see what you have 🙂
    Have a great week and may it be peaceful.
    Colin

  11. cotojo said

    Jen – Thank you so much for your comment.

    I think the poem is wonderful and I am sure that many will relate to it.
    Have a great week 🙂
    Colin

  12. shinade said

    Great Tribute Colin…I also chose yesterday to honor our veterens. However, I am here today..early in the wee hours of the morn. for me to tell you that I have something for you over to my place. I do so hope you will drop by and pick it up.
    http://shinade.blogspot.com/2007/11/winning-attitude-award.html
    Hugs,
    Jackie

  13. Sophiagurl said

    Hi my friend I salute you for laying your life for others and also for your buddy who died in the war. We are so lucky to have people like you who are selfless enough to fight our battles.

    So how was the boots? I was hoping to see it here =)God bless you my friend and Happy Remembrance Day.

  14. […] cotojo put an intriguing blog post on A Day To Remember.Here’s a quick excerpt:“WE WILL REMEMBER THEM.” Credit: 2004 A. Lawrence Vaincourt. They shall grow not old as we that are left grow old Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning, We will remember them. … […]

  15. Jos said

    Wonderful piece, Colin! Good stuff! I came over to tell you that I awarded you.
    http://nodirecton.blogspot.com/2007/11/be-blog.html
    God Bless, and Peace with you, buddy 🙂

  16. That’s a tremendougly moving poem, and not one that I’ve read before. Thank you for sharing it today.

Leave a Reply

 
