Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

Promoting The Community Spirit

Posted by cotojo on October 20, 2007

Mighty Morgan who authors The Process of a Miracle has tagged me with this very worthwhile tag which she got from Bobby from revellian.com which asks that we participate in The Blogging For Friendship Writing Project, which as he says is ‘a project to promote our community’.

“The rules are simple. Write a post promoting goodness and friendship in the blogosphere. If some of you have any ideas on how or why Google should be boycotted, by all means, please do so. Keep in mind this isn’t about hating Google, it’s about solutions and friendships.”

So why are bloggers different?  We come from a very diverse range of backgrounds, races, religions and much more.  Where else can you find such a large group of like minded people?  We create strong friendships, bonds that would not exist if we didn’t blog.

We cross barriers as they are invisible to us, we reach out and touch one another through our own postings and commenting on others.

I have several blogs, this was my second which came about by accident really.  When I first started blogging it was ‘techy‘ stuff on my Free PC Security blog.  One of the first bloggers I came across was Lisa from Life is Just Around the Corner.  I found her blog fascinating and would comment accordingly. 

One day she asked that her readers write a post about ‘Blessings‘, which I did and one remark I got was that my blog was all ‘techy stuff’ so I created this blog, simply called Life, as I had no idea what to call it at the time.

I started to write about all sorts of things, events, humor, missing Madeleine McCann, local views where I live, recipes (more to come) and anything else that I felt like.  It was just to show that I was not just another ‘techy’, that I had a human side too.

It was probably one of my wiser decisions, as I have wonderful readers and have met so many superb bloggers throughout the world, all who have been very positive and supportive.

Lisa is a great friend, and writes wonderful posts about her life and family, you really should go and check it out for yourselves. 

There are just so many bloggers that I have come to know, and it has enriched my life coming into the blogosphere.

As I have said before, I have several blogs, many are similar to my PC Security blog but on different platforms, as I learnt that I gained different readers by doing it this way. 

Google is something that I haven’t strived to get aboard, yet this blog has no ranking and my Free PC Security has a PR5.   I don’t carry advertising, whether it be google ads, text ads or whatever. 

I decided when I started my first blog that it would always be a source of FREE information and I maintain that.  I get comments with links to paid security links which I remove, my blog isn’t about that!!!

Generally, google does not like blogs.  It does not like multiple links to our friends blogs, it changes it’s algorithms at the drop of a hat.  But should we care?  NO. 

If blogging continues in its present form, then the likes of Google and other search engines are going to have to acknowledge this source of knowledge and power.

As bloggers we share knowledge, help others, promote each other, and do a damn site better than Google gives credit for.  So stuff Google and just keep doing what you love to do……Blog! 

The only way to get good traffic is to build a good rapport with your readers, comment on their posts, don’t ignore anyone and remember that we all have a right to express our own views and opinions.

We Stand As One

Here’s a useful tip: you can avoid using Google Search by using Google Scraper, no cookies, no search-term records and access log deleted within 48 hours. 

Here are just a few of the blogs I lurk around….and there are many more, but not enough hours in the day. 

Bob from Bobbarama Deborah from Climate of our Future Marzi from Mariuca Emila from Emila’s Illustrated blog Adrian from First Time Dad Christy from Christy’s Coffee Break Andrew from Hotel Booking Pro Kim from PurpleFrogCat Zubli from the Book Project Janice from This is a Miracle Sophie from WeWe_WetWet Catherine from A Week in the Life of a Redhead Lynda (ljw) from Lynda’s Loft Surjit from gurushabad Bobby from Revellian JohnC from Homeless Family’s Blog Sandy from At Your Service Kim from Laketrees Jeane Michelle Culp from Nomdeplume the Poetress Judy from SugarQueenDream Gracie Belle theblogfairy from She Walks in Beauty Kuanyin from Blog-Blonde Ev Nucci from My Life is Murphy’s Law Jackie (Shinade) from The Painted Veil Paula from Polliwog’s Pond Lisa from Work at Home Mom Revolution Maartje from Behind the Page Jos from NoDirectOn (not: NoDirection) Tyro Pearl from Interesting Observations  Eric from SpeedCatHollydale Diane (DCA) from Much of a Muchness  Colin from Chronic Pain Lifestyle Lynn from Recipes The Blog Elf from Elf Patrol NAFASG – United And Dedicated Behind You Deborah at FastFastLane  Sandee from Comedy Plus Adria at Incinq Sue from Sueblimely Lisa from Life is Just Around the Corner

Thank you and so many others for making the blogging world what it is……a worldwide community that knows no boundaries.

One day, maybe Google will acknowledge the power that we have, for it is tremendous.

Santa recommends: Santa’s Elf’s Club, Santa Mail, Santa’s Wish Tree, Write to Santa, Everyday Should Be Christmas, Santa’s Link Love, Santa’s Community Blog, Book Project, Your Wisdom of Total Happiness, Zubli Zainordin, Hall of Fame, NoDirectOn (not:NoDirection), Marketing•Review, OgenDicht/EyesClosed, The Blog Elf, PurpleFrogCat Blog, PurpleFrogCat StumbleUpon, Polliwog’s Pond, Carnival of Good Stuff, Polliwog’s Stumbles, April Decheine 2006, I could write a book, April Decheine Wife and Mother, Comedy Plus,

27 Responses to “Promoting The Community Spirit”

  1. cotojo said

    Jesse – Thank you so much for dropping by and for your great comment 🙂

    The piggy smile is always lurking there somewhere…..he’s kind of cute 🙂

    It’s always a pleasure to visit your blog, and I hope that you enjoy what is left of your day and that you have a great day tomorrow and that it isn’t ‘one of those’ days 🙂

    Take care

    Colin

  2. jesse said

    HELLO,…just stopping by to read the post again, I think I need that piggy smile today,its been ‘one of those’ !
    I agree that getting good traffic means building rappoire with other bloggers.A really awesome post.
    Colin, hope your day progresses well.Thanks for coming by my blog and for your support ,well, thats so sweet of you.Have a good one,k ??

  3. cotojo said

    JohnC – Thank you for your kind comment 🙂

    Google needs to take blogs into account and not ignore them. The sheer impact bloggers have created on the web is something that cannot simply be ignored. Google need a big wake up call, as you so rightly say, it is ‘our’ inernet, although Google would like to think they own it……they don’t.

    Have a great day 🙂

    Colin

  4. JohnC said

    Awwwww…that was nice. I like the pig!

    Google’s stock losses over the last few days are their wake up call. Many sites that relied on it are now changing to using the other metrics like Alexa and SERP. It’s ‘our’ internet…we were here before Google. We just gotta teach ’em who signs their checks, is all.

    🙂

  5. cotojo said

    Jos – You’re more than welcome 🙂

    It’s a pleasure to include bloggers who do make a difference and I’m sure the list could be never ending.

    Have a great day 🙂

    Colin

  6. Jos said

    Great Post, Colin. Thanks for having me on that list, it’s an honor!
    -Jos:))

  7. cotojo said

    Hanna – Thank you for your visit and comment.

    Piglet is a real cutie isn’t he 🙂

    Have a great week 🙂

    Colin

  8. hanna said

    Is pretty the photography of the piglet!!!
    ciao!

  9. Sophiagurl said

    you bet I am! =)

  10. cotojo said

    Lisa – hahahahaha that’s your excuse and you’re sticking to it 🙂

    Colin

  11. Sophiagurl said

    Haha! I guess I recover very quickly then=)

  12. cotojo said

    Lisa – Lost for words? Wow that’s a first hahahaha

    As I said in the post, if it weren’t for you this blog wouldn’t exist, and I am quite surprised by the success it has had. You deserve the praise for that 🙂 It also allows ‘me’ to come through whereas on my PC Security blog it all about security issues 🙂

    To have met so many wonderful people globally, and built great friendships is amazing.

    Thank you for such a wonderful comment, your continued support and most of all, your friendship 🙂

    God Bless my friend, and love & hugs to you too

    Colin

  13. Sophiagurl said

    Wow Colin, what can I say…suddenly I am at lost for words.

    You are one of the very first persons who touched my heart here in the blogosphere. And I was very pleasantly surprised and awed to discover your human side (some sinister too! hahaha) and of course your whacky side!

    I feel humbled by this wonderful post. As I often tell you it never ceases to amaze me how people who have not met face to face can connect in different levels and become friends.

    You have come a long long way and for that I am mighty proud of you. God bless you my friend, continue to touch people’s lives and tickle their funny bones too! Love and huggss!

  14. cotojo said

    Jackie – Hiya stranger, good to see you again 🙂

    Thank you so much for your comment. Now, Knights in White Satin….what a classic, awesome choice too. That has to be one of my all time favorites 🙂 The Moody Blues hav so many excellent songs, but that is by far the best.

    Have fun out on the road and take care.

    *Big Hugs* to you too from the other side of the pond lol

    Colin

  15. Shinade said

    Hey Colin, it’s been way too long since I have been around to visit…for that I apologize. It has truly been my loss. This was simply an outstanding post. And, I promise after my trucking music plays for our first few days out on the road….I am going to play Knights in White Satin again for us…..that is if I can find it on this new player. Thanks so much for adding me in your list…wow…maybe while I am on the road and will have some extra time when my hubby is loading and stuff I think I will sit down and make my own link list to add to each post. I too love Lisa…she was one of my first also and I haven’t been to visit in way too long…thank you for reminding of that fact as well. I shall visit today!! Great post~Big Hugs from across the ocean!!

  16. cotojo said

    Kim – Thank you for your comment, it’s always a pleasure to see you here 🙂

    I think too much emphasis is put on Goggle etc, and the best we can do is to just continue blogging. At some point they will have to acknowledge the power bloggers have.

    Whether the tide is turning remains to be seen, but they do have a Beta blog search at: http://blogsearch.google.com/

    Time will tell 🙂

    Have a great week

    Colin

  17. laketrees said

    love the smiling pig …Colin…..
    terrific post….and excellent run down on Google…….
    every now and then I panic and think…oh dear …I haven’t done this or that re rankings…whether its Google….Alexa …..or whatever….
    you have put everything in perspective here … 🙂

  18. cotojo said

    Morgan – Thank you so much for your kind comment 🙂

    As you say, we all fill in a part of this wonderful puzzle, and help each other.
    That’s the beauty of the blogosphere. What power we have 🙂

    Take care, Hugs to you

    Colin

  19. morgan said

    Awesome post Colin! You said so much of what I didn’t 🙂 I guess thats part of the power behind all of us blogging…..we all fill in a particular pieces of this wonderful puzzle. Thanks for posting on the weekend although it’s not something you usually do!
    Be well@

  20. cotojo said

    NAFA – You’re welcome guys, it’s a pleasure to include it 🙂

    Colin

  21. NAFA said

    Hey Colin…

    Wow we are so grateful that u put up the badge on your post. Thanks a lot! U make us feel proud to have created that badge. =)

    NAFA

  22. cotojo said

    NAFA – Hi guys, Thank you for your comment 🙂

    It’s what blogging is all about, spreading love and joy throughout the community where we have no barriers. It’s a global effort to unite people worldwide 🙂

    Colin

  23. NAFA said

    Hello Colin…

    Looks like u are spreading love and joy to the blogosphere as well with this one. This is one article that would surely mean a lot to u. It is all about sharing the love and happiness together as one family in this blogging community. And what we are doing here can make a difference to the rest of the world.

    Thanks for mentioning us, and the rest of the amazing bloggers. =)

  24. cotojo said

    Jesse – Thank you for your comment 🙂

    There are just so many amazing bloggers, it really isn’t possible to list them all 😦 But it is about time the likes of Google recognized the impact they make within the web.

    I love the piggy smile too……it’s wicked hahaha

    Colin

  25. cotojo said

    Bobby – Thanks for passing by and commenting 🙂

    As you say, we are a force of our own and in time the major search engines will have to recognize this. They crawl our blogs, yet offer no recognition…..it’s all very one sided!! The sheer volume of bloggers universally have a major impact upon the search enginges so one day they will have to open their eyes to this major impact, which is not just a ripple but a tidal wave.

    Colin

  26. Jesse said

    What a lovely post…and some really amazing bloggers that you mentioned. I love the piggy smile 🙂

    Jesse…

  27. Great post Colin!!! You are so right. Blogging is it’s own force, with or without Google. By ignoring them and doing what we do best…they will have to realize our importance.

    We are the people that make Google and all search engines what they are. Thanks for this beautiful post!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
