Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

Local Places of Interest

Posted by cotojo on September 27, 2007

This pic is of my daughter.  She lives with her mum about 1 hours drive away and stays with me every fourth weekend, and for longer periods during the school hoidays.  So when she is here she likes to go out and about (as long as the Bank of Dad is open) and we go to many different places

We will drive down alongside the River Teign heading towards Teignmouth and Shaldon and then on towards Dawlish.

At Teignmouth there is a sandbar which stretches out for several hundred yards and the river estuary has to be constantly dredged so that freight carrying ships can navigate the entrance without becoming grounded.

The beach is very popular with locals and tourists and stretches from the river mouth at Teignmouth toward Dawlish. The main London to Penzance railway line runs along the coast and through tunnels connecting the villages.

Teignmouth is also home to one of Britain’s narrowest streets, Stanley Street, although there is a much narrower one in nearby Exeter.

The main London to Penzance railway line, looking from Dawlish toward Exeter, often gets breached by the sea in severe weather and this will frequently close the line.  Over the years many parts have had to be replaced and the sea wall has collapsed on numerous ocassions.  This causes major disruption to all rail users.

Drive out to the open expanse of Dartmoor and the rocky granite outcrop of Haytor is a long climb up from the narrow winding roads.  Once at the top it is great to be able to climb up the rock and see the views around.

This is one such view looking toward Trendlebere.  Dartmoor is preserved as a National Park and has many wild ponies as well as sheep grazing.  It’s a great place for peace and quiet, rambling in groups, but never on ones own as it is too easy to lose your sense of direction and get lost.  There are few houses once on Dartmoor itself.

This is a rocky outcrop, reaching into the sea at Torquay just outside of the harbour.  Torquay is also known as The English Riviera and is very popular with tourists.  It also hosts many major events such as powerboat racing, the Tall Ships Race and has an annual Bikers Make a Difference show where thousands of bikers from all around the country gather to raise money for various charities.

Digg!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

16 Responses to “Local Places of Interest”

  1. cotojo said

    Emila – Thank you for dropping by and for your very kind comments 🙂

    Will be adding more pics when I have a bit more time or more arms lol.

    Colin

  2. emila said

    Hi Colin! You have a very pretty daughter and thank you for sharing the local places of interest. Great pictures!

    Thank you for dropping by my blog!

  3. cotojo said

    Sandy – Thanks for your kind comments.

    I’ll post some more photos as there are many interesting places around here. The street is very narrow, I think it’s just over 3 feet wide (I’ll take a tape measure next time lol)

    JK Rowling certainly has imagination, but when people look around it’s easy to spot some inspiration from what you see 🙂

    Colin

  4. She’s a beautiful girl. She smiles like you. Thanks for the tour. I feel the warmth of summer again through those photos. That is one very narrow street.

    People wonder how JK Rowling came up with her HP world. I think she must have just opened her eyes!

  5. cotojo said

    Sue – Thanks for your comment 🙂

    I’ll have too get some more photos out 🙂
    I lived on the edge of Dartmoor many years ago and would often get snowed in, and even now when the snow is there I take my daughter out there and we have snowball fights 🙂
    I missed the big snowfall in the early 60’s as we were living in Mauritius, but from relatives we learnt that it was above the front doors lol. Back in the late 70’s we had a heavy fall and it took me 8 hours to drive 17 miles hahahaha, I must have been mad 🙂

    Colin

  6. Sueblimely said

    Seeing photos like that brings back many happy memories and makes me feel a touch homesick although I have now lived in Australia as long as I lived in England. One of my fondest memories is being snowed in when staying with a group of friends in a small village in the area. There was no way we could leave to get back to London and work. We did the only thing we could do and that was to spend all our time in the warm friendly pub next door to the drafty, very cold cottage we were staying in. It took 3 days for the roads to clear enough for us to head home. Come to think of it a lot of my fondest memories from that era relate to spending time in pubs with friends 🙂

  7. cotojo said

    Lisa – Yes she does look grown up, how time flies though. Seems only yesterday she was a toddler.

    The ‘Bank of Dad’ is very popular with my little madam 🙂

    There are so many lovely places around here, I think that many people forget about them or just take them for granted. I love going to Dartmoor with its wide open expanse of countryside and it can be absolutely silent out there with no traffic noise and people milling around 🙂

    God Bless

    Colin

  8. Sophiagurl said

    Hey Colin she looks really lovely and all grown-up if I may say so. Haha, how I miss the bank of Dad! But guess what? I’ve opened a new account some years back and am now glad to note that the new account is quite open to withdrawals too hahaha!

    Gosh, those are lovely places! you must be having so much fun time with her. =) God bless!

  9. cotojo said

    Kim – Thank you for your comment 🙂

    Yes she will break a few hearts in the future I’m sure.
    Travelling to Exeter by rail isn’t too bad, it’s beyond Exeter that the problems begin 🙂

    ‘Bank of Dad’ – my daughters favourite line hahaha

    Colin

  10. laketrees said

    you have a very pretty daughter Colin…
    I travelled down to Exeter in the 80’s …but not by rail….
    had a laugh at your Bank of Dad line… 😀

  11. cotojo said

    GK – Alakazam!! Thank You so much for the Totally Fabulous award.

    That is awesome and I will proudly display it 🙂

    Wow what a carpet ride this is turning into, and I regularly check for updates on the increasing number of passengers who have boarded 🙂

    Colin

  12. Genie King said

    ALAKAZAM!

    Greetings! The Mighty Genie King is here to remind you to pick up your Totally Fabulous gift for taking the ride on board the Magical Flying Carpet! We hope that you will enjoy the ride and that all your wishes will come true!

    The genies would be very happy if you put up the symbol of the genie on your sidebar to show that we’ve been here and that you are a rider of the magic carpet if you have not already done so! Oh I see that you have…Wonderful!

    ALAKAZAM!!

    Genie King

    Shazam! PS Don’t forget to come by regularly to the Genie King’s domain to pick up updates too! Shazam!

  13. cotojo said

    Diane – Thank you for your kind comments 🙂

    Shaldon is lovely, especially the Ness, and it’s now undergoing some new developments in the village with new houses near to the bridge. I’ll have to take some more pics of the changes.

    It is a lovely part of the country to live in with the sea on one side and dartmoor on the other 🙂

    Colin

  14. Diane said

    Gorgeous daughter, gorgeous photos too!

    I know Shaldon well. Dated a chap who lived in Salty Lane for a couple of years and as I was getting a PGCE at Exeter Uni at the time (commuting from Dorset!), I stayed in Shaldon every weekend. It is a lovely part of the world. I love the South West, we are very lucky to live there…

  15. cotojo said

    Mary Ann – Thank you so much for stopping by and for your most kind comments.

    Yes my daughter is a great girl and has my sense of humour too lol, but it’s nice to get out and see what is around us as it’s a lovely place to live with so much around that people take for granted and forget about it.

    Colin 🙂

  16. Saboma said

    Awww, Dad, she’s a lovely daughter and looks much like you, if I may say so. I really enjoyed reading this post and had to stop in just to tell you that, too. ~:o)

    Please accept my apologies for not stopping in more often than what I do, kiddo. I’ve gotten kind of lazy and spoiled with this Google reader. Yet, I want you to know that this blog is in it along with the others. I keep ya’ll in it for easy reading access. I’d also like to claim that I’m very attentive with what’s in each post but that would be a lie. I do, however, read most every post written, even if I quickly scan my way through each post.

    The photos are very loverly, as our Kim would say. Thanks for sharing the world as you experience it, kiddo. ~:o)

Leave a Reply

 
