Life

Life, Humour, Recipes. Please feel free to comment, your input is valuable and always responded to.

To All My Loved Ones

Posted by cotojo on June 7, 2007

Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there I do not sleep
I am a thousand winds that blow
I am the diamond glint on snow
Do not stand at my grave and cry
I am not there – I did not die.
I am the sunlight on ripened grain
I am the gentle autumn rain
When you awake in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight
I am the soft stars that shine at night
Do not stand at my grave and cry
I am not there – I did not die.

Following quote from:
http://www.toallmylovedones.com/index.htm

About the Song
This poem first came to notice when it was reproduced in the Daily Mail, March 10th, 1989. It had been enclosed with a letter sent by Stephen Cummins, a young soldier, to his parents, to be opened only in the event of his death.

Stephen died on March 9th when a landmine blew up beneath his Landrover in Londonderry. The poem immediately caught the public’s imagination and it was hailed in the press as “the most requested poem in the English language in the past 60 years” and “the poem that takes the nation by storm.”

http://www.toallmylovedones.com/sample.htm

There have been many claims as to the origin of this poem, but the following pdf document is worth reading:
http://www.toallmylovedones.com/article.pdf

4 Responses to “To All My Loved Ones”

  1. […] is my 200th post on this blog which came to life with its first post on June […]

  2. […] To All My Loved Ones                     The Soldier   […]

  3. cotojo said

    Thank you, I will be adding more to this blog sometime in the near future.
    Take care my friend and God be with you.
    cotojo

  4. Sophiagurl said

    this is wonderful, simply wonderful.

Leave a Reply

 
